Building Blocks for Creativity

No, really.
Look at them. A whole basket full of fun. Thank you, local church op shop for this fantastic $4 find. (And you should have seen their excitement that someone was taking this stuff off their hands! Almost too excited…)
So here they are.

20140205-162948.jpg

(WTF do I do now? Where did those glorious artistic visions go? Where’s that meteor shower of ideas that burst through my mind when I was considering buying this pile of rejected wood!?)
Well, I guess I could – oh, hey Arbie.

20140205-163039.jpg

Trust you to come out of the proverbial woodwork to check out the literal woodwork. Don’t you go making any webs tho…
Now, where there’s an Arbie, there’s bound to be a Nut close by…

20140205-163120.jpg

Yep. There he is.
Alright, jump in. Let’s have a look at these outside.

20140205-164747.jpg

Having fun?

20140205-163705.jpg

Well it looks like Arbie’s got dibs on the treasure chest.
Ok what else have we got?

20140205-164400.jpg

Squares, rectangles, cylinders, curvy bits. All with nicely finished edges. Dunno what they were for in their past life. Roads for toy cars? Basic building blocks? (At least I had different coloured ones as a kid.) Maybe just off cuts? (Though the neat edges suggest otherwise.)

Hmmm…

20140205-163750.jpg

WTF is this?

That’s clearly a ring-in. Might just toss it aside coz I don’t think I’ll be using it.

20140205-171006.jpg

Now, how many of each of these do we – oh.

20140205-173210.jpg

Thanks, Nut.
I guess you’ve found the piece you want then. Jolly good.

[45mins later.] Do dogs never tire of this game?!

Right, well, I’d say I’ve got a pretty good stash for some alternative rustic wood signs. Yes, I know I’m still finishing the others I started months ago – stop judging me! The stars weren’t aligned, ok?
They mustn’t be quite aligned yet either coz otherwise this morning’s coat of varnish wouldn’t have stuck to the newspaper causing an emergency sand-and-patch up job!
Phew.

Anyway, here’s my first experiment with ink and acrylic (see below). Ink, my recently discovered BFF, decided to bleed on this particular surface, I noticed with horror. (Sorry ink, no longer BFF.) So I turned to my old faithful mate, acrylic paint.
It was getting rather late, so under the influence of chocolate I eventually got it to a look I was happy with. (Couldn’t leave it in its current mess, midnight or no midnight.) This was despite the Blue having gone to shit in its tube as well. I shook it and though, ‘allo, that’s not right…’ Paint should never sound like a Milo milkshake being made.
But, improviser that I am, I made it mix, so this little strey character got her blue tunic after all. (Thus far I’ve only sketched these little characters I call ‘streys’, so this was a double experiment of painting surface and ‘colouring in’ with paint!)

One more swoop with the black ink gets us to… A happy place 🙂

20140205-163925.jpg

So the verdict? I think there’s much fun to be had with this lot. And moving out of your comfort zone is good for the creative soul too.
Often the most rewarding projects are the ones where you’re forced to rescue or innovate or think quick because the materials don’t behave according to your neat, ideal plan. I’d call that a real ‘building block’ to creativity. What can you do when things go wrong or play unexpected games with you?

And a funny thing happens when you resign yourself to a project being ‘stuffed’. Suddenly you free yourself to experiment, coz ‘it’s messed up anyway’, so you take more risks. You extend your skills. You grow. You learn. And hopefully you become a better artist because of it.
In other words, never give up. 😉

Happy creating!

For more Nut & Arbie fun, check out their blog here: http://www.nutandarbie.wordpress.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crawcraftsbeasties
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 00:46:27

    What a lucky find! I’m interested to see what you do with the treasure chest… if Arbie gives it back. Enjoy!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Looks like a basket case! | Nut & Arbie

Leave a Reply

